Prof. dr. ir. Marjolein Dijkstra

Leonard S. Ornstein Laboratory, room 0.64
Princetonplein 1, 3584 CC Utrecht
P.O. Box 80 000, 3508 TA Utrecht
The Netherlands
phone: +31 (0)30 253 3270
secretariat: +31 (0)30 253 2952
phone: +31 (0)30 253 1122



  • 1994 Postdoc
    EC-Human Capital and Mobility (HCM)
    Prof. P.A. Madden and Prof. J.P. Hansen, Oxford University, UK
  • 1995 Associate research physicist
    Shell Research and Technology Centre Amsterdam
  • 1996 Postdoc with Prof. M.P. Allen, Bristol University, UK
  • 1997 Postdoc at CECAM (Centre Européen de Calcul Atomique et Moléculaire) Lyon, France
  • 1998 Postdoc
    EC-Training and Mobility Research (TMR) with
    Prof. R. Evans, Bristol University, UK
    1999 Assistant professor (UD) Utrecht University
  • 2006 Associate professor (UHD) Utrecht University
  • 2007 Professor Utrecht University, (co)promotor of 32 PhD students
    (finished), at present 5 PhD students


  • 1990 Chemical Engineering, Wageningen University
  • 1991 Physics, Utrecht University
  • 1994 PhD degree
    Supervisor: Prof. D. Frenkel (FOM institute AMOLF)

Research interests:

My research is focused on theory and computer simulations of soft condensed matter systems to study physical phenomena like phase transitions, glass and jamming transitions, gelation, and nucleation in bulk systems and systems subjected to external fields like sedimentation, electric fields, etc. We employ Monte Carlo, (event driven) Molecular and Brownian Dynamics simulations, Stochastic Rotational Dynamics simulations to include hydrodynamics, Umbrella and Forward flux sampling, and simulated annealing techniques to predict densest packings, candidate (crystal) structures and to determine the (non)-equilibrium phase behavior of colloids, nanoparticles, liquid crystals, etc.

can be downloaded from
see also and

Additional functions: 

  • 2016-present APS Editor Reviews of Modern Physics
  • 2017-present Co-editor Molecular Physics
  • 2013-present Sectorplan committee Bèta
  • 2011-present Board Member Department of Physics, Utrecht University

Prizes and awards:

  • 2000 FOM Minerva Prize
  • 2004 UU High Potential Grant (1472 kEuro)
  • 2006 NWO-VICI grant  (1250 kEuro)
  • 2007 NWO-Aspasia premie
  • 2020 ERC Advanced grant
  • 2020 Member KNAW (Dutch Royal Academy of Sciences)